Ann and Andy: The Similarities

Ann Jackson, 1983 – Andy Warhol, 1963

I just finished reading a book about Andy Warhol. Artist’s lives have always been interesting to me, but I’ve never given Warhol much thought because he has never been one of my favorite artist. Also, I don’t think I even knew of his existence until in my 20’s.

The Hunter Museum, here in Chattanooga, had an Andy Warhol show years ago and I went. The Campbell’s soup cans and Marilyn portraits are colorful and nice to see, but the diamond dust shoes on a black background– now that is good art!

Diamond Dust Shoes, by Andy Warhol, 1980

What inclined me to read this book?

While in the local library thumbing through art books to find something of interest, I ran across a page of this Warhol book with the headline “The Factory: A Who’s Who” which lists key people in Warhol’s life. It says one called Candy Darling, who was a transvestite, referred to his penis as “his flaw.” I knew when I read that this would be an interesting book.

What I did not know, however, was I have more similarities with Andy Warhol than any other artist I have read about. Maybe it’s because he was famous during my lifetime and we both played with Polaroid and Xerox images and had MTV in common; maybe it’s because we both got a little of the same crazy stuff from our Creator.

The next few days will be posts about Andy Warhol’s and my similarities – as I see it. Keep in mind, I am in no way insinuating that I have even a smidgen of his genius. If I did, I wouldn’t be a starving artist. I am merely entertained by the fact that we have a lot in common despite the fact I knew very little about him before reading this book.

I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

